Environmental Council

The Washtenaw County Environmental Council was established by the Board of Commissioners’ Resolution 18-191 on November 28th, 2018.

The impetus for the establishment of the Council came from community concerns and through the Washtenaw County Board of Commissioners, driven by the urgency of environmental risks including climate change and threats to our air, land, water, soil, food supply, and natural resources.

The Environmental Council’s mission is to create a vibrant, sustainable, net-zero Washtenaw County through developing environmental policy and organizational recommendations for Washtenaw County government, in order to:
  • Achieve net-zero emissions for County operations by 2035.
  • Protect and improve the County’s air, land, water, food network, and both mental and public health as related to the environment.
  • Address and counter environmental and intergenerational injustice.
Agendas are available prior to the meetings.  Minutes are available following approval.

Name Representation
Michelle Deatrick Chair, Land Use and Preservation
Mark Clevey Vice Chair, Sustainable Energy Producers
Anne Brown Racial Equity & Environmental Issues
Jason Morgan Washtenaw County Commissioner
Sue Shink Washtenaw County Commissioner
Andy LaBarre Washtenaw County Commissioner
Lisa Wozniak Community Groups
Melissa Stults Infrastructure Energy Reduction Issues
Stephen Manville Public Health Issues
Kris Olsson Community Groups
Erin De Vries Water Protection
Gay MacGregor Vehicle Emission Reduction Issues
  1. Zach Neal

    Management Analyst
    Phone: 734-222-6894

Was this page helpful for you? Yes No