Minimum Qualifications of Certified TOS Inspectors

The Environmental Health Division has established the following minimum requirements for obtaining certification as an inspector of on-site water supply or septic systems under the Washtenaw County Inspection at Time of Property Transfer Regulation (PDF):

  1. Minimum of a high school education or equivalent.

  2. Knowledge of on-site water supply and/or sewage disposal systems as demonstrated by:

    1. Personal interview with County officials. Applicants will be evaluated as to specific work experience and knowledge related to construction practices and operational standards of on-site water supply and/or sewage disposal systems.
    2. Passing a brief screening exam that will test applicants on their technical knowledge of on-site sewage disposal and/or water supply. This screening test will help assure compliance with Section 3.6 of the regulation, which states, Prospective inspectors must demonstrate knowledge of construction practices, operational standards as well as the causes and indicators of onsite water supply and sewage disposal system failures.

  3. The following point system will be used to evaluate applicants technical knowledge, where a total of 80 points or more is considered satisfactory. Individuals that do not score 80 points may satisfy the requirement by subsequently completing Qualification IV:

    1. Credentials:
      Registered Well Driller (applies to well inspectors only) - 80 points
      State Certified Inspector (applies to well inspectors only) - 80 points
      Registered Sanitarian; Professional Engineer - 60 points

    2. Experience:
      Over 5 years documented experience - 50 points
      3-5 years documented experience - 40 points
      Less than 3 years documented experience - 0 points

    3. Screening Test:
      90% - 100% - 50 points
      80% - 89% - 40 points
      70% - 79% - 30 points

  4. After demonstrating technical knowledge, candidates must successfully complete a core training course and exam which will include:

    1. Requirements of the regulation

    2. County procedures to implement the regulation

    3. Water supply inspection protocol

    4. Sewage system inspection protocol

  5. Those applicants who do not receive at least 80 points in the evaluation of technical knowledge may demonstrate that proficiency by subsequent completion of one of the following:

    1. Inspector certification in the appropriate field by the National Sanitation Foundation,

    2. A course or certification in on-site water supply or sewage disposal that is accredited by the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality,

    3. Technical training, demonstrated by passing an exam administered by Washtenaw County.